Removing console so shifter can be replaced... - Pontiac GTO Forums: Pontiac GTO Forum
NewAge GTO Forums
 


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Pontiac GTO Forums: Pontiac GTO Forum > GTO Tech > Transmission/Driveline Tech

Newagegto.com is the premier Pontiac GTO Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2006, 02:46 PM   #1
dferrier
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Removing console so shifter can be replaced...

Can anyone tell me or (better) post pics of how to remove the console cover surrounding the shifter? I have looked at it and I am sure there are just hidden clips I need to push or pry or something but am unwilling to do so blindly. I have the 05 GTO btw...
dferrier is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-05-2006, 06:04 PM   #2
svede1212
Senior Member
 
svede1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Posts: 247
there's just one phillips head screw in the upper right back side of the "coin holder" area under your radio. take that screw out. open your center console and gently pull up the plastic cover surrounding the shifter and work your way forward. that's all there is to it. you're right, other than the one screw the rest is all clips.
svede1212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 03:13 PM   #3
Gadkiyspo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Palo Alto, USA
Posts: 16
I think that*this information is*the best.
Gadkiyspo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 05:29 AM   #4
JohnRetzlaff
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: new york city
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gadkiyspo View Post
I think that*this information is*the best.
^^ wut !
__________________
Youtube Downloader For Android
JohnRetzlaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 04:08 AM   #5
Bradleywhites
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: florida
Posts: 12
100% a lurker
Bradleywhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 10:05 PM   #6
Martin Walsh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: zibo
Posts: 1
More than likely, the linkage broke at the transmission. The shifter cable pivot at the transmission is exposed to moisture and debris and from time, it gets rusted up and binds. You will need to replace the cable. It's one piece from the transmission to the shifter assembly.
__________________
OBD2 Code Scanner
Martin Walsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 AM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.